In Suzi's Words

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

13 Random Acts of Blessings

blessings, kindness, random actsThursday morning, I created a Facebook post asking my fans to display a random act of kindness, or, as I call them, random acts of blessings.

Then, coinkydink of all coinkydinks, that night, as I watched Chopped, one of my faves on the Food Network, I witnessed an amazing random act of blessing that brought me and everyone on the set, to tears.

If you are not familiar with the show, chefs are asked to create appetizers, entrees, and desserts, utilizing mystery ingredients placed before them in a basket. Most often, the ingredients are rare and somewhat strange, but somehow these talented chefs create some amazing dishes on which they are judged.  At the end, only two of four chefs are standing for the dessert round; the final chef going home with $10,000.

Here comes the blessing!

Each chef has a story, and one of the chefs on this show wanted to go to France to see her grandmother who had played a very important role in her life and was not doing well. She needed to win the prize to purchase the ticket home.

During the show, this same chef overcame 2nd degree burns on her legs after spilling a pot of boiling water on them, yet would not stop making her dish; she said she was okay and had to go on as she wanted to see her grandmother. After making it all the way to the last round, unfortunately, she was chopped.

As she was bidding au revoir, the winning chef said, “Wait!” He then turned to her and offered to buy her ticket to France so she could go visit her grandmother.

Wow!!! These people were total strangers before going on that show, and that is, by far, the best random act of blessing I have ever seen!

Or would you rather be a goat?

There is a story in the Bible in Matthew 25 about Jesus separating people into two groups, as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He then invites the sheep group into His kingdom; no goats allowed.

When asked by the sheep side of the room why they were chosen, He replied,

for I was hungry and you gave me something to eat; I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink; I was a stranger and you invited me in; I needed clothes and you clothed me; I was sick and you looked after me; I was in prison and you came to visit me”

In other words, for their random acts of blessings. But the sheep didn’t remember ever doing these things for Him. He told them ‘truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Don’t misunderstand; I’m not saying never partaking in random acts of blessings will get you a one way ticket to the fiery pit with the goats. What this is saying is when we perform random acts of blessings, we not only bless the people on the receiving end of our act, we also bless the Lord. I don’t know about you, but that makes my heart do a happy dance!

The Best Blessing I Ever Received

quilt, Bob, blankie, kindness, random act, blessing

Love from Wendy

After my brother passed away, my, very talented, friend Wendy Mathews made me a quilt out of Bob’s shirts. It is my most prized possession.

It’s almost like having my brother’s loving arms wrapped around me every time I cuddle up in that blankie; it even has his scent.

Each square is a reminder of special times we shared, his zest for life, and how his unending capacity to love others inspired us all.

Every day with Bob was God’s random act of blessing to me.

The Bakers Dozen of Blessings

Brightening someone’s day is easier than you might think; and the perks are fantastic! The rewards of seeing how much joy you give to another is beyond words.

These straight-from-the-heart displays of kindness are most often bestowed upon someone going through a hard time financially, or dealing with an illness. Yet, things don’t have to be going awry for someone to need a little love; happy people need love, too.  Try one or all of these!

  1. Gift cards tucked into a greeting card: groceries, spa, movies, dinner out. Choose the card that fits the circumstance for the recipient
  2. A DVD, popcorn, and an offer to babysit – at your house
  3. A handful of wildflowers tucked under a windshield wiper
  4. A bag of groceries left on the porch
  5. A little basket of cookies, tea, and a pretty tea cup
  6. A box of soft Kleenex, cozy socks, a blankie, and a box of Cold Care Tea
  7. A funny or encouraging card in the mail every week for a month or so
  8. An inspirational, encouraging, or comforting book. The Chicken Soup series is good for this
  9. Bring homemade baked goods to your local fire station, anytime but Christmas
  10. Pick up the tab for a table of police officers the next time you see them at lunch
  11. If you know someone elderly or ill, show up one day ready to pull weeds, plant flowers, walk the dog every Tuesday, or do laundry
  12. Pay for the person in line behind you at a drive-through
  13.  Tuck a love note into a lunch box, briefcase, purse or backpackflowers, daisies, yellow, kindness, gift, blessings, random acts, inspiration

I know there are many, many more ways in which blessings can be sprinkled into someone’s life. How about you? Do you have a story to tell about a blessing received or a blessing given?

Please share your ideas with us so we can pay it forward!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “13 Random Acts of Blessings

  1. Raul (Raulie) Arbiso on said:

    Hello Suzi,
    this is Raul (Raulie) Arbiso….this is the first oppertunity I’ve gotton to view your site. I have to say I’m impressed. I really enjoyed the “13 Random Acts of Blessings”. Other than Physical Education, I enjoyed teaching elementary kids the meaning of helping others…..and the rewards thereof.
    Within the last three weeks I was approached twice about extra change, when I asked what for, I said I no longer give out money but if you’re hungry I’ll buy your meal. Yes, it does fulfill the heart when helping others…..in need.
    Take care Suzi….God Bless….Bye for now………Raulie

  2. Hi Raul, thank you so much for your note! Writers love readers to respond, it lets us know how we are doing. I have taken the same course as you when approached for cash; I,too, prefer to give food or help in other ways. I love to help and bless others, but cash does not always help them. God’s best to you as well, keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Writer In Me

Clear. Concise. Creative.

Spend With Pennies

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

Healthy Living How To

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

CareGiving.com | Site-Wide Activity

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

Alexis Grant

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

LaTanya Orr

Glam. Power. Purpose. Branding tools to position your business with style and on purpose!

Jonny Cooper. Business Coach. Marketing Guru. Writer.

Connectology: Discovering the Art of Intelligent Networking

