In Suzi's Words

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

CHRISTMAS JAR CHECK-IN

http://www.insuziswords.wordpress.comIn December, I shared with you a sweet little story about a newlywed couple who tossed their coins into a jar at the end of each day so they would have a Christmas fund to buy each other gifts for their first Christmas together, and how the wonderful tradition of the Christmas jar was started and grew to bless so many.  I was so inspired by this story, I started a Christmas jar of my own and I encouraged you to do the same.

In case you didn’t have a chance to read the book yet, the story continues with this young couple raising a family and one of their children giving away their Christmas jar, all the money they had saved for their family’s Christmas gifts, to a woman in need, a total stranger; thus starting a new tradition that was carried on for many years to follow and came back to bless them tenfold.

With the sound of each coin that drops into my jar, the story’s inspiration and my anticipation of blessing someone’s life with my jar at Christmas this year intensifies. I can’t wait to fill it up and give it away! I can’t wait to see how God directs me to just the right person. Maybe it will be someone I know, maybe a total stranger, maybe a child, or maybe an elderly person.

Today I was wondering how you are doing? Did you follow my lead? Did you start a Christmas jar of your own?  Are you remembering to put your coins in when your pockets or wallet change pocket is full? Are you using paper money instead of your coins when you make a purchase so you will have more coins to drop in your jar at the end of the day? I used to work hard at using up all my coins so my wallet was a little lighter. Now I can’t seem to fill it up enough – the fatter and heavier my coin pocket is, the happier I am. I love the sound of the coins dropping into the jar; clink, jingle, ring, and chime – like a beautiful wind chime swaying in the breeze.

If you haven’t started your own Christmas jar yet, it’s not too late!  You can even change it up a bit (pun intended) and start a Valentine jar instead. You can call it your luuuuuvvvvvv jar! That’s what it’s all about anyway isn’t it – love? Sharing your jar full of coins with someone in need is surely a true act of love.

Do you have a Christmas jar story to share? My friend, Karin Wallace, told me she was going to give a jar and the book to a soon-to-be-bride for a wedding shower gift. I thought that was a fantablous idea! Please share your story or ideas here. You never know who might be inspired by YOU!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Writer In Me

Clear. Concise. Creative.

Spend With Pennies

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

Healthy Living How To

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

CareGiving.com | Site-Wide Activity

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

Alexis Grant

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

LaTanya Orr

Glam. Power. Purpose. Branding tools to position your business with style and on purpose!

Jonny Cooper. Business Coach. Marketing Guru. Writer.

Connectology: Discovering the Art of Intelligent Networking

