In Suzi's Words

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

Black Beans ‘n Rice

photo Spicy Black Beans and Rice.docx

I found this recipe on Pinterest which lead me to the Chef in Training site.

When trying a new recipe, I usually try to follow the recipe exactly as it is written the first time around and make changes to suit my tastes the next time I make it.

This was a really good, and complete meal to get on the table in a short amount of time as is. But, for me, I will probably adapt the recipe to suit my tastes in this way:

For me, there was too much garlic. Although I prefer brown rice to white, I used white rice because that is what I had in the cupboard. I topped my dish with chopped cilantro, raw chopped onion, and sour cream (plain Greek yogurt is a healthy substitute, but again, already had the sour cream). I think next time, I will use chopped tomatoes as opposed to stewed, a bit too overpowering.

I can see using this mixture to stuff burritos or tacos as well, or serving as a rice bowl. Yum!

I do use organic ingredients whenever I can; especially following the Dirty Dozen rules.

 Spicy Black Beans and Rice

Ingredients

Instructions

  1. Place olive oil in a medium sauce pan over medium heat until hot.
  2. Add chopped onions and minced garlic to pan and sauté until tender.
  3. Once tender, stir in black beans, tomatoes, red pepper, cumin and salt and bring to a boil. Once it reaches a boil, reduce heat and let simmer for 15 minutes, uncovered.
  4. Serve over hot brown rice.

Serves: 4

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

The Writer In Me

Clear. Concise. Creative.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Spend With Pennies

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

Healthy Living How To

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

CareGiving.com | Site-Wide Activity

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

Alexis Grant

A little bit of laughter, inspiration, & encouragement

LaTanya Orr

Glam. Power. Purpose. Branding tools to position your business with style and on purpose!

Jonny Cooper. Business Coach. Marketing Guru. Writer.

Connectology: Discovering the Art of Intelligent Networking

